People Watching on Monday Night Football

So yesterday in an attempt to relax after a fairly long and stressful day I found myself watching a Monday Night Football game. After already losing this week in Fantasy Football, I was not remotely interested in the game or football in general.  I caught myself attempting to watch the crowd more than the players on the field… One of my favorite hobbies is people watching, and honestly I kind of grew frustrated as I tried to watch the out of focus people in the crowd.

At this point God reminded me of something, I realized that in photography and video focus changes with depth. The camera focused at one depth (the players) would put everything at other depths out of focus (the crowd).

I feel like in my relationship with God I often get bogged down and focused on a certain sin, or a certain struggle… Yes, even as a youth pastor I still sin, daily.  At this moment God reminded me that if I wanted to change my focus I needed to change my depth with Him, I needed to go deeper with God.

So today my encouragement to you if you are struggling is this – go deeper with God and your focus will naturally change.

Oh, and might I add… As we go deeper with God our focus becomes more on the things that please Him, our focus becomes more about Him, and less about us… That my friends is something to be excited about because when we focus on ourselves and our own works, we have already missed the point.

“He must become greater and greater, and I must become less and less.” – John 3:30

One thought on “People Watching on Monday Night Football

Leave a Reply

