Line of Sight.

I feel like tonight God is giving me a message that someone needs. A message that I’m not even sure at 22 years of age I can adequately wrap my mind around, but I literally feel restless every time I close my computer and try to step away so here goes nothing.

I read a verse tonight and it hit me like a ton of bricks. Lately, I feel as thought I have seen a lot of people I know going through a lot of very tough situations. Just today I was at lunch and a student happened to be at the same restaurant, as I walked by and wondered to myself why she was out of school, she turned around and stopped me to say hey. I asked her how she had been and her response was, “My grandfather passed away.” Earlier today I read a text from one of my best friends, “Lost my great aunt last night.” Just yesterday I was at the funeral for the father of some of my good friends and key student ministry volunteers.

I feel as though every time I turn around someone is experiencing tragedy, and not just deaths, those are just examples fresh on my heart. The truth is this: I’M TERRIBLE AT DEALING WITH THIS!! 

I really am. I have no clue how to respond when people are upset, I don’t know the words to say when someone is grieving. To be honest, I sometimes ignore phone calls if I think bad news is on the other end of the call. I know that is terrible but it’s true! I feel bad even admitting it.

You are probably wondering where I am getting with this, aren’t you? 

Here’s where I feel God leading me right now:

“We live by faith, not by sight.” 2 Corinthians 5:7

I read this tonight and it honestly almost brought me to tears. I look around right now and I don’t understand everything going on in the world, everything going on in the country, and definitely not all that is going on in the lives of so many people I care deeply about.

I look around at the culture that today’s youth are growing up in and how the things that defile God are the things that culture promotes and encourages. I look around and see where marriages are being broken all over. I look around and see where many children have little to no parental guidance.

I look around and find myself questioning, “How, God? How are You going to use ANY, much less ALL, of this for good?”

I find myself at times questioning Romans 8:28, “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose.”

See, I find myself in the same situation as Peter in Matthew 14, at the point where I have already asked Jesus to let me step out in faith onto a journey with Him, but then as soon as I do storms come up. I picture this scene with Peter where he stepped out and then a wave comes up right between him and Jesus, a wave breaks his line of sight to Jesus, and that’s when he loses faith and begins to sink. I see this happening also in our lives.

Satan wants each one of us to focus on what storms are going on around us and to get us to focus on them he will put them directly in our line of sight if he has to. Satan will put things that we used to just hear about happening in our friends lives and put them right in our laps.

The good news is that the Jesus that took Peter the first few steps on the water is the same Jesus that didn’t wait on the other side of the wave but instead broke through the wave and reached out His hand to Peter, and He is reaching out His hand to you.

 Jesus didn’t wait on the other side of the waves for Peter and He won’t for you either, He wants to flood your current situation with His love. Jesus wants you to experience the Holy Spirit who He referred to as “the Comforter.” Jesus wants you to walk by faith in Him, not by your own sight.

“Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see.” Hebrews 11:1

Love you guys,

-Recovering Sightseer.

Leave a Reply

